Worthy of Salvation?

For most of my Christian life I struggled to be “good enough.” It didn’t matter that I knew salvation was by grace alone. There was just something in me that felt the need to somehow show God that I was really trying.

Then one day reality sat in and I realized that no matter how good I became, no matter how much I served Him, no matter how long I fasted, prayed, studied His Word, I would never be more than I am – a sinner saved by grace. Maybe you already understand your dependency on Christ, but do you grasp the enormity of what He has done.

1 Corinthians 2:14 says, “But the natural man does not receive the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; nor can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.”

In other words, without Jesus, there is no way you can understand the things of God because they are discerned with your spirit. If you have not been born again, your spirit is blind and unable to know the things of God. Strike one!

Then we have 2 Corinthians 4:3,4 which says, “But even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled to those who are perishing, whose minds the god of this age has blinded, who do not believe, lest the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine on them.”

So here I am, lost and without hope. I can’t understand the things of the Spirit of God since they must be discerned with my spirit which is totally corrupt because of my sinful nature and to top it off even if I try, the god of this age has blinded me so that I cannot believe. Strike two!

So what chance do I have? How can I believe in Jesus if the deck is stacked against me? It is by the simple wooing of His Holy Spirit. I don’t understand the things of God. I can’t understand the things of God, but He draws me anyway and says, “All you need is just a little faith, and you know what? I will give you that too.” What an awesome God!

So here I stand, a child of the King, the righteousness of God through Christ Jesus, and still totally helpless to do anything that would be constituted as worthy of all He has done.

I have been reconciled back to God all because of Him. I can’t earn it, I certainly don’t deserve it, and there is nothing I can add to make what He has done any greater. It is all because of Jesus.

Now that’s freedom!

Have you found Him yet? if not, email us at info@fruitbearers.com. We would love to introduce you.

Fruitbearers Outreach Ministry

